You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

The Twilight Render Team shares tips, ideas, helpful hints, and more on using Twilight Render
Post Reply
Ecuadorian
Posts: 1779
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
SketchUp: 7.1
Location: Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contact:

You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by Ecuadorian » Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:55 pm

Note:
This works with the Easy - "Interior" and "Interior+" presets.

Let's say you left your machine doing a small test overnight. This render had completed more than 6,000 passes when I stopped it:
lambo-saved-as-JPG.JPG
lambo-saved-as-JPG.JPG (9.51 KiB) Viewed 13784 times
Want a bigger version? Just save as .hdr and open the file in an external program. This is what I got after opening the .hdr in Motiva RealCamera, playing a little bit with the exposure and gamma and then saving it as .jpg:
Attachments
lambo-extracted-from-hdr-file.jpg
lambo-extracted-from-hdr-file.jpg (49.57 KiB) Viewed 13783 times

Ecuadorian
Posts: 1779
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
SketchUp: 7.1
Location: Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contact:

Re: You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by Ecuadorian » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:03 pm

Here's the link to download the latest version of Motiva RealCamera (freeware):
http://www.motivacg.com/recursos/Motiva ... a_0.2a.rar
And the info page:
http://www.motivacg.com/descargas_en.php

After opening your .hdr in Motiva RealCamera, set the "Input gamma" to 1 and leave the "Output gamma" at 2.2. The "Input gain" control will then be roughly equivalent to Twilight's exposure control. Of course, you're free to experiment.
input-gamma.gif
input-gamma.gif (11.12 KiB) Viewed 13767 times
Your photo editor might also be able to open .hdr files, try it.

The reason why this tricks works is that when you use the "Interior" and "Interior+" presets, your image is internally rendered at 3x the size you choose, to help fight "jaggies". If you don't want to see jaggies when you open the .hdr, just make sure to always use a camera aperture different than "pinhole" and select an object in your scene as Twilight's focus point, or "target". I used F-number = 2 for this test, and focused the camera on the car.

Note: The bigger version extracted from the .hdr will be, obviously, noisier. You don't notice that in this example because I allowed it to render for 6,000 passes.

A related trick is that you can get away by using the "Interior Preview" preset and still get no jaggies if you use a camera aperture to blur part of the scene.

shura
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:49 pm
OS: Windows 7
SketchUp: Pro 7.1
Location: D - Berlin

Re: You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by shura » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:28 pm

This is fantastic news! Might be a good helper in projects with tough deadlines... Thank You

Ecuadorian
Posts: 1779
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
SketchUp: 7.1
Location: Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contact:

Re: You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by Ecuadorian » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:51 pm

Just remember than when you use "Interior preview" there is no supersampling, and thus the're no 3x-size version to extract from the .hdr.

Zacchia
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:41 am
OS: Windows XP
SketchUp: 7.1.6860

Re: You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by Zacchia » Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:36 am

this is really interesting and right now i test it. Just one thing: Motiva runs only version 01b. The versions 02b and 04c i can not load images on one PC, one another one it works. What about anybody, no problems?
Windows XP, Arcon VA HausDesigner Professional, SketchUp Pro, CasCADos 2.0.551, TheaRender, TwilightRender

Ecuadorian
Posts: 1779
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:43 pm
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
SketchUp: 7.1
Location: Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contact:

Re: You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by Ecuadorian » Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:48 pm

I can't run any Motiva software in Windows 7.

unclebim
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:47 am
OS: Windows 7 64-bit
SketchUp: 2014 + 2015 Pro
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria

Re: You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by unclebim » Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:28 pm

You can open the .hdr file with IrfanView. Make sure you have the plugins pack installed.

coskuarsiray
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:54 pm
OS: XP
SketchUp: 6.0
Location: Ankara/TURKEY

Re: You already have a bigger version of your "Interior" render

Post by coskuarsiray » Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:14 pm

There is a little software called hdr view.
This works too.
http://ict.debevec.org/~debevec/FiatLux/hdrview/

Thank you for the great tip by the way!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests