Ice castle

Show what you're working on, get feedback and help
Danbou

Ice castle

Post by Danbou » Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:48 pm

First of all, a big thank for this wonderful software "TWILIGHT".

I'm working on our new ice castle concept for our event in february 2010. I'm really not a SU pro or a renderig software pro(like some in this forum) but I think the combinaison of SU and TL (two relatively easy software)is very interesting for people like me, who didn't have a real formation in 3D drawing and who work with this kind of softwares just few hours per weeks.

Yesterday, I tried to render our ice castle in TL and I'm very happy with the first result.

I hope I'll have enough time for increase my ability with this wonderful software.

Comment are welcome.

Daniel
Attachments
Ice castle
Ice castle
Palais 2010 - TWL - Render 08 - 10h42m 73-10000 - C.jpg (383.73 KiB) Viewed 11278 times

Ecuadorian
SketchUp: 7.1

Re: Ice castle

Post by Ecuadorian » Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:53 pm

Hi, Danbou. Will it be made of ice blocks?

Danbou

Post by Danbou » Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:58 pm

Yes,

Approximatively 6 000 ice blocks (75 pounds each).

Ecuadorian
SketchUp: 7.1

Post by Ecuadorian » Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:02 pm

Then perhaps you could use an SSS material similar to this one:
http://twilightrender.com/phpBB3/viewto ... =sss#p2350

Gaieus
SketchUp: 6 7 8

Post by Gaieus » Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:27 pm

Hi Daniel,

Indeed, long time no see.

So you are already preparing for this coming winter! :)
True that adding these lights can give much to the models. Looking forward to seeing some images with (maybe) other materials like Miguel suggested.
Gai...

Danbou

Post by Danbou » Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:10 am

Hi Ecuadorian, Hi Gaieus,

Ecuadorian,
I saw your topic "Playing with SSS and 3D Warehouse model" 2 weeks ago and to be honest, I tried these setting on other ice project (I like it).